Estate Sale Voyeur

I enjoy estate sales but I have always had mixed feelings about them. On the one hand they can be a great place to find vintage and antiques, household items, tools, books etc., but they are also bittersweet.  For me it is a small glimpse into a life that has passed.  It is so much more intimate and personal when you are walking through someone’s home and seeing the life they made for themselves; looking at all the little finds, treasures and daily objects they collected, enjoyed and used throughout their lives.  Nowhere is the history of a vintage object more poignant than in an estate sale.

The little treasures I have found at estate sales always have a more personal feel than something from an antique store or flea market particularly if I knew the owner.  I live in an older part of town with an older demographic so in the past few years I have attended estate sales of some of my neighbors.  The purchases from these sales are special because they hold a real memory for me of the person who owned them.  These items I usually refer to with a name; Thelma’s art glass, Mr. Bishop’s cast iron.  It may sound a little strange, but when you think about it, we never truly own something we only take care of it for a finite amount of time.  Someday my home will be the MOTHER of all estate sales,  and “my” treasures will move on to new keepers and maybe even remind someone of me.

IMG_8548.JPG

Thelma’s vintage high fi and art glass.

img_8551

Mr. Bishop’s cast iron.

img_8552

Shirley’s lunch box

img_8549

Thelma’s Pyrex

Leave a comment

Filed under Collecting, Decor, Estate Sales, Home, Musings, vintage

Leave a Reply

